top of page

Homemade all natural Lip Balm

Here is a recipe for an all natural Lip Balm, which is safe to use for all. You can change the Essential Oils to suit adults or children (using less of the EO for children). There are also variations on this recipe, to make general balms for various things.

It can be tweaked to make a general moisturising lotion bar, or all natural deodorant bar

Using Zinc Oxide to make suncreen,

Add Lavender, Myrrh or Frankincense to make skin Healing Balm

Add small amount of Cinnamon or Ginger oil, to make plumper lips

A. bug repellent bar citronella, Peppermint, lemon, Basil or Lavender to name a few.

For insect bites you can use, lavender or Tea Tree.

Even a vapour rub for children, using slightly different recipe,

I am still testing some of the above, but once I am happy with the recipes I will add them too.

To make a small batch of lip balms making 4 x 10ml tins I use...

2 tbsp Shea butter (you can use cocoa butter instead)

1 tbsp Almond oil (you can use coconut)

2 tbsp beeswax (or soya wax)

I sometimes add 1 tsp Vitamin E oil.

Approx 20 drops of essential oil of choice, I like Lavender and Clary sage.

How to make

I use a double boiler, (glass bowl , over a pan of small amount of water) I melt the beeswax, butter and oils first, then to check it is the consistency I want I stir with a metal spoon, then let the liquid cool and solidify on the spoon, I then touch this to see how it feels, if I want it a bit harder for lip balm tube for example I put a bit more beeswax, if I want it a bit softer for little tin, I add a bit more oil, until I am happy with the consistency, I then add my essential oils of choice and pour into the tins. I set it aside to cool completely, then you are good to go.

(little tip, if you do all the above and then find its still not quite the right consistency, you can scoop it back into the bowl, remelt it and either add more beeswax or oil depending on how you want it, you might want to put a few more drops of the essential oil, if you do this though)

The information on this website has not been evaluated by the MHRA and is not intended to diagnose, treat, prevent, or cure any disease ,  Please make any of these recipes at your own descretion.

©2018 by diynaturesway. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page