top of page

Basic Liquid Soapnut Recipe

Liquid Soapnuts can be used for all sorts of cleaning, by just adding different EO's and/or white vinegar or some other natural cleaning items, (other recipe's to follow)

Firstly, here is how to make your basic Liquid Soapnut cleaning product.

I use 2 berries per cup of water, so you can make a large batch (and freeze some) or smaller batches as a when you need them.

Places berries and water in a saucepan and boil for about half and hour, If I am making a large batch I put a smaller amount of water at the start then, add the rest about half way through. I give them a good stir and squash them to get all the saponin out.

Once cooled strain through a muslin cloth. I first used a strainer which let little bits through, and I didn't have any muslin cloth, so I used one of the muslin bags I got with the berries, which was fine.

I did a big batch first off, and I froze some (tip- I placed in a kraft paper bag and marked do not eat on it ) They are a brown colour, so this should put people/kids off popping them in a drink, but its best to be extra careful!

I then re-used an old washing up bottle added some EO for washing up liquid and put the rest in an old glass jar, I placed both of them in the fridge to keep them fresh. They don't last too long, my'n only lasted about 2 weeks in the fridge, so I froze more after that, and made slightly smaller batches.

Apparently you can add citric acid to make them last longer but I have not tried this yet, If anyone has tried this, let me know what you thought of it. :-)

There will be a soapnutrecipe blog coming soon if it's not there already!!

The information on this website has not been evaluated by the MHRA and is not intended to diagnose, treat, prevent, or cure any disease ,  Please make any of these recipes at your own descretion.

©2018 by diynaturesway. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page